Home » Uncategorized » Cheeseburger in Paradise

Cheeseburger in Paradise

I hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful Saturday morning. Mickey just got in from work and is snoozing and Alice is still sleeping as well. Right now, it is just me and my cats and my breakfast. We are going out to dinner tonight to celebrate Mickey’s 50th Birthday. So, I am making sure I eat light and do my exercising. I have a date with Jillian as soon as I finish this post.

Speaking of Jillian, I have finally decided on an exercise program after playing around with all of them. This first month of exercising has been trial and error. I am finding out what I “Like” and can stand to do. Let’s face it. If you TRULY hate your exercise program, after a while you are going to burn out and not want to do it. I enjoy my recumbent bike, but I would get very bored doing it every day. I have reserved it for short workouts to round out my strength training and I use it for a leisurely workout on my rest day.

I can’t say I love the Jillian workouts. In fact, they are pretty akin to being in a torture chamber. I do however, love the way I feel after I have finished one. Nothing like finally getting a big whiff of oxygen to make you feel better. Seriously, I feel a sense of accomplishment when I am done. I also feel dirty, icky, and sweaty. While I don’t enjoy that feeling for long, I do feel as if it is proof that I have pushed my body as far as I can possibly push it.

Jillian has a real “in your face style.” She doesn’t take excuses. Unlike her persona on “The Biggest Loser,” she is very encouraging on her DVDs. She constantly tells you if you can’t master a move, not to worry, just to work on form and to keep trying, to do what you can, and to KEEP MOVING. That is the kind of encouragement I need, personally. It may not be for everyone, but it is what works for ME.

After trying each DVD, I have decided how I am going to approach this. I am going to restart and complete Body Revolution. Only that one for the next 3 months. (It may take me 4) I then, will return to Ripped in 30. From there, I will go to Six Weeks, Six Pack and finish it out with 30 Day Shred. I just don’t feel like I am getting much done by jumping around. Oh, I was getting exercise in and strengthening my body. I can feel that, already. But now I have sampled each and have a PLAN! Y’all know how much I like a plan.

This week has been tough adjusting my MIND to my eating plan. Notice, I didn’t say DIET. It is funny, adjusting my mind set. Part of me wants to say, oh no, I am on a diet, I can’t have that. BUT. I can. I mentioned my Uncle Donald and Aunt Daisy were going to cook me a hamburger because I had been craving one. Thursday night, we went over there and I had my hamburger. Actually, I had TWO hamburgers. Yes, I did. I ate a light breakfast, a light lunch, and did my normal exercise routine. Then, for supper, I had two hamburgers and a handful of chips. I savored every bite. Those were the most delicious hamburgers I have ever eaten in my life.

Uncle Donald had grilled them, so they were delicious and juicy without being greasy. Aunt Daisy had fresh lettuce and a juicy tomato and onions and pickles. I had mine almost Jimmy Buffet style. “I like mine with lettuce and tomato, Heinz 57 and french fried potatoes, big kosher pickle and a cold draft beer, Good God Almighty which way do I steer for a Cheeseburger in Paradise?”

I skipped the cheese, the french fries (we didn’t have any, thank goodness) and the beer. I had unsweetened tea with lemon, instead. I did have the lettuce, tomato, pickle, Heinz 57 and onion. Guess, how many calories, I went over by? Not what you probably think. I went over my eating calories by 237. However, even though I don’t usually eat any of my exercise calories, it is ok to do so, every now and then. I only ate HALF of my exercise calories. I admit, I got on the scale both Friday and this morning. Did. Not. Gain. An. Ounce. But, if I had? It totally would have been worth it. Not to do every day, mind you, but after six weeks? Oh yessssssss.

It’s life, you have to live it. You have to enjoy it. If you are thinking, “Once I lose x amount, I will be happy,” I am sorry. You are lying to yourself. If you are not happy in your life now, losing weight is not going to help. Oh you may be happier about your body and your health, but that is ALL losing weight is going to make you happier about. It is not going to fix any of your relationships. Losing weight is not going to cure your boredom or relieve your stress. Only you can do that. And why on earth would you say, “I will enjoy my life when I lose weight.” Enjoy your life NOW. Enjoy your journey. Do things you wouldn’t have done before. Don’t let being fat stop you. Live in the moment. Have the occasional cheeseburger, but balance it out with light meals and lots and lots of exercise.

6 thoughts on “Cheeseburger in Paradise

  1. I totally agree! I’m not unhappy with life now. I have tons of things that I love to do and enjoy doing. I want to be healthier, which will lead me to being thinner and more fit. Getting to my goal weight is not about the end. It’s about being part of a bigger picture. I’d love to be at 185 again, because I’ll be a better basketball player, I’ll be a better runner. It doesn’t END there, it continues.

  2. The last paragraph were much needed words today. Have had an emotional week and I needed these words in print as a reminder…I know the amazing things I have in life…but sometimes it is hard to see past ‘everything else’ and just truly enjoy and be happy in and with the moment.
    Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

